Library of Haghpat Monastery
The Library of Haghpat Monastery, often rightly called a Matenadaran (manuscript repository), was one of the richest collections of Armenian manuscripts in the Middle Ages. It preserved ancient Armenian manuscript volumes dedicated to scientific-educational, religious-philosophical, ideological, social-cultural fields, Armenian History, and other areas. New manuscripts were created and valuable books were copied here. If compared with modern archives, it is undoubtedly equivalent to the Mesrop Mashtots Matenadaran in Yerevan, which is of global significance. It is also thanks to the manuscripts of the Haghpat Library that the Yerevan Matenadaran exists today and that many pages of Armenian History are known. It was part of one of the famous Armenian educational institutions of the Middle Ages: the School of Haghpat.
The original building of the Library was constructed in the 11th century, which was reconstructed and given a more beautiful appearance between 1258 and 1262 through the initiative of the abbot of the monastery, Archbishop Hovhannes. The walls and many beautiful niches designed for books have been preserved from the 11th-century building. Currently, one can observe an asymmetry in some niches and columns, which is a consequence of the reconstruction. The builders aimed to preserve the old structure as much as possible. The inscription regarding the 13th-century reconstruction is located on the back of the Khachkar (cross-stone) called Amenaprkich (All-Savior), which stands next to the Surb Nshan Church, and on a khachkar leaning against the entrance to the scriptorium.
Each wall of the scriptorium contains two low columns, which rise to support the roof’s single-span arches. At the center of their intersection is the erdik (skylight structure), which rises upward and has the appearance of a dome. Wall niches for books are located in the walls. The only entrance is from the west and has a modest structure.
This building served as a scriptorium for about five centuries. To protect the ancient manuscripts from enemy attacks in the 14th–15th centuries, they were moved to several almost inaccessible caves located in the area of Haghpat village. Tsakayr is one such cave. Starting from the 16th–17th centuries, the monastic community used the former scriptorium building for economic purposes. Karases (large clay jars) embedded in the floor of the scriptorium have been preserved from those times and were used to store wine.
Between the Surb Nshan Church and the scriptorium is the latter’s corridor, a structure extending from south to north. The entrance, marked by an arch, is on the southern side. The floor contains tombstones, and khachkars, originally placed there and brought from other places for preservation, lean against the walls. Armenian inscriptions are carved into the walls. The northern part connects to the scriptorium.
6°